Microsoft’s internationally-recognized Certification exams serve to provide IT employees with the designation that allows them to succeed in their chosen IT career, no matter the location.

Microsoft breaks up its certification exams into five categories: Server, Desktop, Applications, Database, and Developer. Each category offers a different streamline depending on your specialization. For example, those specializing in SharePoint can choose a Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) stream or a Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD) stream. 

As SharePoint Developers, we recommend our students prepare and take the Solution Developer exams as the MCSD stream is most inline with our curriculum and most inline with our graduates’ subsequent career work.

All of the information required to pass these exams is covered in InnoTech’s eight month SharePoint Programming Diploma. Separate from the course curriculum, but included in the program’s tuition, is preparation for the MCSD SharePoint Applications Exams. We provide students with the tools and knowledge that they need to feel prepared and ready to write their exams and receive their certification.

There are four exams included in the MCSD SharePoint Certification. Microsoft presents the exams on their website in steps because acquiring the MCSD Certification requires passing all four exams in the given order.

That order is as follows:

  1. Programming in HTML5 with JavaScript and CSS3
  2. Developing ASP.NET MVC Web Applications
  3. Developing Microsoft SharePoint Server Core Solutions
  4. Developing Microsoft SharePoint Server Advanced Solutions

(Microsoft, 2016)

Each exam has its own price (roughly $165), but that price is bundled and discounted when you sign up for and schedule all 4 exams in one purchase.

The first exam measures the individual’s ability to implement and manipulate document structures and objects, implement program flow, access and secure data, use CSS3 in applications.

The second exam tests the individual’s ability to design the application architecture, design the user experience, develop the user experience, troubleshoot and debug web applications, design and implement security.

The third exam tests the following technical tasks: plan and design SharePoint sites, implement authorization and authentication, access and manage data, implement SharePoint solutions, implement the user experience and information architecture, create business processes, create office apps.

The fourth and final exam measures the individual’s ability to design and implement search, implement Business Connectivity Services, implement user profiles and customize social workload, implement ECM and WCM, design for performance and troubleshooting, implement MMS.

                                                                                                                                                                (Microsoft, 2016)


Microsoft (2016) “MCSD: SharePoint Applications” Microsoft Learning. Retrieved from Web. July 29, 2016

Request Information
Which program are you interested in?*
WordPress Image Lightbox